Design Inspiration – World Map Wallpaper

I have always had a dream of owning a home with enough rooms that I could give each one it’s own theme.  I just love too many different designs that I could never be happy with a home having only one design.  I want art deco, biedermeir, rococo, modern…the list goes on.  One room that has always had a special place in my heart has been the idea of a library/club room.  I see myself back in the late 1800’s up until around the 1960’s…a wealthy aristocrat who travels the world, goes on archaeological digs, safari’s, etc.  The musty smell of old books mixed with cigar smoke and a couple over-sized brown or dark maroon leather club chairs.  And to top it all off, a giant map of the world to remind of all the places I had traveled and where I still needed to get to!

This photo is a perfect example of my vision.  What do you think?  Would you decorate with a map, or at least throw in a few globes?  And take a look at the country immediately above the lamp…Peru!  That’s us!

world map as wallpaper

2 thoughts on “Design Inspiration – World Map Wallpaper

  1. This map is just perfect! I REALLY would LOVE to buy one for my wall! Can you please tell me where i can buy one that looks exactly like this? Would be forever greatful! Hopefully it is possible to ship to South Africa!

    Hope to hear from you!

    Lindie
    Email: schloms@sun.ac.a

We know you want to say something - type away!

